REVIEW: Lander – J. Scott Coatsworth

Lander - J. Scott Coatsworth

Genre: Sci-Fi, Sci Fantasy

Reviewer: Melissa, Paranormal Romance Guild

Get It On Amazon

About The Book

The world needs saving, again.

Xander and Jameson thought they’d fulfilled their destiny when they brought the worlds of Oberon and Titania back together, but their short-lived moment of triumph is over.

Reunification has thrown the world into chaos. A great storm ravaged Xander’s kingdom of Gaelan, leaving the winged skythane people struggling to survive. Their old enemy, Obercorp, is biding its time, waiting to strike. And to the north, a dangerous new adversary gathers strength, while an unexpected ally awaits them. In the midst of it all, Xander’s ex Alix returns, and Xander and Jameson discover that their love for each other may have been drug-induced.

Are they truly destined for each other, or is what they feel artificial? And can they face an even greater challenge when their world needs them most?

The Review

This is a second book that picks up the first one ended.  With the amazing world building, I definitely recommend reading “Skythane” before digging in to this story, because holy wow does Coatsworth take you on an adventure. 

 There is so much that happens in this second book.  The genius is the way the plot unfolds, allowing the reader to discover the pieces that are moving, some obvious, some subtly in the background.  There are so many fabulous plot points that I could gush about, but it would take away the discovery of seeing it happen for the reader.

The relationship between Xander and Jameson faces some truly intriguing challenges, but it is not the focus of this book.  In fact, much of the book, they are separated.  

My favorite part of this book is the inclusion of so many interesting and strong characters.  They are of all genders and do not follow the stereotypes found in so many books.  Seeing the story from their viewpoints gives so much more depth and interest to this unfolding adventure.

In a lot of series, the second book is the weakest.  That is so not the case here.  Thankfully there will be a third book, as we are left with a bit of a cliffhanger and dang you J. Scott Coatsworth for that!  I may be stalking him for the third book now.

Fans of Science Fiction and Fantasy really need to add this series to their libraries.  And join me in the chorus of fans waiting on book three.

The Reviewer

In writing this bio I am taking a rare break from reading! I always have a book on hand just in case there is time to sneak in a chapter or two. As a military spouse and a mom of two boys, it is amazing how often I am hurrying up to wait. Luckily for me I don’t have a favorite genre so I get lots of fun authors to choose from. My education was in sociology and mental health counseling, so stories with strong character development are my favorites. Happily Ever After is the best part of romance for me because real life is hard enough. 

The Paranormal Romance Guild was established in 2009 by 8 Indie Authors and one Reviewer to be a constant help for authors. You can be a free author member, submitting your work for review OR become a Premium Author Member for a small yearly fee and enjoy many extra services including Free Beta Reads, Author Giveaways and many others. Your reviews are posted on our 3 FB Sites, Amazon, Goodreads, Twitter and Instagram. WE REVIEW ALL GENRES LGBTQ+ welcome.

Check out our website: https://www.paranormalromanceguild.com/

FB: https://www.paranormalromanceguild.com/

Leave a Comment