Vessel of Starfire

by Allison Carr Waechter

Vessel of Starfire - Allison Carr Waechter - Outlaws of Interra
Part of the Outlaws of Interra series:
  • Vessel of Starfire

SISTER. ASSASSIN. VESSEL.

Echo Rodrigal isn't just a survivor; she's a success. But in a land where the law is there are no laws, the terms of success rest on a knife's edge, and Echo's luck is about to change.

The Vindicata are one of the top vengeance crews in the Ten Realms of Interra. Their oaths to only commit crimes of justice have earned them the respect of their peers. But the Vindicata are more than a crew, they're a family. And ever since they adopted Echo, she's cared about one thing: making her family proud.

For years, that's meant becoming the continent's most feared assassin. But each kill wreaks havoc on her soul, no matter how justified. Echo's unraveling fast, complicated by the mysterious rift growing between her and her beloved sister. Miyala's keeping dangerous secrets, and Echo cannot find the key to unlock her sister's trust.

When the Warlord orders the Vindicata to transport foreign dissidents to a new prison, they must put their personal issues aside to face an impossible choice: die for defying orders, or die for breaking their oaths to uphold justice. Between meddling gods returning to the continent, mercenaries around every corner, and an ancient prophecy that foretells the end of all worlds, the pressure on Echo is mounting fast.

Can she make enough right moves to save her family? The fate of many worlds rests in Echo's next choice.

Excerpt:

PRAISE FOR VESSEL OF STARFIRE

"Unforgettable and beautifully written." -- Holly Karlsson, author of Daughters of Fire and Sea and Unusual Diction

"Really, truly, Vessel of Starfire is beautiful. Beautiful. The ending and epilogue almost broke me in a myriad of ways. But, of course, now I want more. And isn't that the sign of a good book? 10/10 would recommend."  -- Nicole Colinarez, author of The Wild in Between

"The ingredients for a great fantasy series: plot twists galore, a queer protagonist who struggles to understand her destiny, a love triangle, mysterious otherworldly beings with ulterior motives, mythical creatures, prophecies, an enigmatic but dangerous warlord, and more. I am eagerly awaiting the next book in the series." -- Maria Sclafani, Librarian

"Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sarah J. Maas, with intrigue and adventure keeping you turning the pages well into the night. Vessel of Starfire is going on my yearly reread list, that's for sure! " -- Sara McCormick, author of Lunar Intentions 

WHAT READERS ARE SAYING

"Intricate, inclusive, and sexy in the best ways."  --  FIVE STARS, Amazon Reviewer

"One of my favorite elements is the handling of trauma and neurodivergence: it isn't played for tragic, if irrelevant, backstory. And even though it's a fantastical setting, trauma isn't "magicked away"; it doesn't give you superpowers; it isn't just there for a "dark night of the soul" for the characters to simply brush off at a convenient moment. It feels real, and very human." --  FIVE STARS, Amazon Reviewer

"Like a D and D campaign come to life." -- FIVE STARS, Amazon Reviewer

"I got lost in this sensual, beautiful, and often deadly world. I couldn't put the book down-- I'm very much looking forward to the sequel!" -- FIVE STARS, Goodreads Reviewer

"Personally, and as an educator, I just loved the characters... It's incredibly refreshing to see complex, beautiful characters who are queer and fat and neurologically diverse take center stage rather than to be sidelined or sidekicked." -- FIVE STARS, Goodreads Reviewer

About the Author

Allison Carr Waechter writes magical books for readers craving inclusive stories. Allison lives in Minnesota, where she spends her days both telling stories and helping other people tell theirs. Right now, she's probably drinking a cup of tea and herding a lynxcat off her desk.

To learn more about her books and to sign up for her newsletter, please visit www.allisoncarrwaechter.com.


Leave a Comment