As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

The Seeds of Dissolution

The Dissolution Cycle, Book 1

by William C. Tracy

The Seeds of Dissolution - William C. Tracy - Dissolution Universe
Editions:Paperback: $ 16.95
ISBN: 978-0997299441
Size: 6.00 x 9.00 in
Pages: 413
ePub: $ 2.99
ISBN: 978-0997299441
Pages: 415
Audiobook: $ 17.46

Music and magic. Steampunky science. The Dissolution is coming.

Eighteen year old recluse Sam van Oen lives with his aunt, takes online college courses, works in technical support, and tries not to remember the freak storm that killed his parents ten years ago.

But anxiety and reclusion bring up memories he doesn’t want. Just as Sam gathers courage to send in his application for college away from home, the temperature drops and the sun goes dim. Ice forms in August, and a portal opens in his fireplace. This time, Sam can't run.

This time he's sucked in.

Now Sam must survive in the flourishing capital of ten alien species, home to thousands who can change the Symphony underlying the universe and alter reality. Sam’s anxiety attacks and fear of crowds transforms the Nether into a frightening, expansive city. To find his home again, Sam must learn to control the music inside him, while devastating voids threaten to destroy the Nether and everyone he has grown to love.

"Simply Put, This is a Brilliant Book. Read it Now." -Scattered Thoughts and Rogue Words Blog

If you're looking for an awesome ride across multiple homeworlds filled with magic, science, music, and diverse alien species, don't miss the first book in William C. Tracy's Dissolution Cycle!

The Dissolution Cycle (Epic Space Opera, LGBT):
Book 1: The Seeds of Dissolution
Book 2: Facets of the Nether
Book 3: Fall of the Imperium
Book 4: Tales of the Dissolutionverse (Novella collection)

Publisher: Space Wizard Science Fantasy
Tropes: Alien Artifacts, Ancient Weapon, Band of Misfits, Benevolent Aliens, Cross-Species Friendships, Dark Enemy, Evolving Powers, Fellowship, Fish Out of Water, Found Family, Galactic Civilization, Interspecies Romance, Portals, Secret Society, Training


About the Author

William C. Tracy writes tales of the Dissolutionverse: a science fantasy series about planets connected by music-based magic instead of spaceflight. This series currently includes a three-book epic space opera cycle. It also includes five novelettes and novellas, including a coming of age story, tales of political intrigue, a Sherlock Holmes-like mystery, a Jules Verne style adventure. Several books include LGBT-friendly elements. His first epic fantasy from NineStar Press is Fruits of the Gods, about a land where magic comes from seasonal fruit, and two sisters plot to take down a corrupt government.

William is a North Carolina native and a lifelong fan of science fiction and fantasy. He has a master's in mechanical engineering, and has both designed and operated heavy construction machinery. He has also trained in Wado-Ryu karate since 2003, and runs his own dojo in Raleigh NC. He is an avid video and board gamer, a reader, and of course, a writer. In his spare time, he cosplays with his wife such combinations as Steampunk Agent Carter and Jarvis, Jafar and Maleficent, and Doctor Strange and the Ancient One. They also enjoy putting their pets in cute little costumes and making them cosplay for the annual Christmas card.

You can get a free Dissolutionverse short story by signing up for William's mailing list at Or follow him on Twitter at for writing updates, cat pictures, and thoughts on martial arts.