As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

Between The Water and The Woods

by Simone Snaith

Between the Water and the Woods - Simone Snaith
Editions:HardcoverPaperbackePub

Emeline’s quiet village has three important rules:
Don’t look at the shadows.
Don’t cross the river.
And don’t enter the forest.

An illustrated fantasy filled with beauty and power, Between the Water and the Woods sweeps you into a world where forests are hungry; knights fight with whips; the king is dying; and a peasant girl’s magic will decide the future of the realm . . .

When Emeline’s little brother breaks all three of their village’s rules, she is forced to use her family’s forbidden magic to rescue him from the dark things he awakens, the Ithin. Now that the Ithin are afoot in the land, she must, by law, travel to the royal court and warn the king. But the only way she and her family can make the journey to the capital is with the protection of a sour magister and a handsome, whip-wielding Lash Knight. Will Emeline survive in a city where conspiracies swirl like smoke and her magic is all but outlawed?

Seven full-page black-and-white illustrations accompany Between the Water and the Woods, a lush, fairy-tale-style fantasy perfect for readers of Karen Cushman and Shannon Hale.

This book is on:
  • 1 Read list
Reviews:on Online Eccentric Librarian:

"a beautifully written story that feels more like an ageless fable than a contemporary novel."

on Milky Way of Books:

"A beautiful story about love family and nature . . . recommended for its lush descriptions and wonderful storytelling."

on The Omnibus:

"reminiscent of an old fairytale . . . the relationship between Emeline and her brother is one of the most realistic I’ve seen in a fantasy setting . . . I thoroughly enjoyed this book."

on School Library Journal:

A delightfully fresh fantasy that mixes science and magic in fascinatingly complex ways."


About the Author

Simone Snaith is an author of Fantasy, Urban Fantasy, and Young Adult novels. She also sings in the Los Angeles band Turning Violet and writes for The Los Angeles Beat. Her new YA Fantasy, BETWEEN THE WATER & THE WOODS (Holiday House Books), featuring illustrations by Sara Kipin, is available wherever books are sold.